Manly Australia
Manly & Northern Beaches, Sydney Australia - Wednesday, 21 November - 7:42am
Join us on Facebook Follow us on Twitter Circle us on Google+


Surfriders Recognised as Council’s 2018 Eco-Heroes

Source: Northern Beaches Council
Posted: 3 Nov 2018
Over 100 eco-heroes descended on Long Reef Golf Club last Wednesday night (24 October) as Northern Beaches Council revealed the winners of the 2018 Eco Awards.

Now in their 13th year, this year's top prize was jointly awarded to Jude Furniss and Rowan Hanly.

The awards celebrate ordinary people doing extraordinary things for the conservation of our environment and recognise community members who have volunteered their time and effort to enhance the regions diverse and valuable, natural habitat.

Northern Beaches Mayor Michael Regan said Ms Furniss and Ms Hanly, both volunteers with Surfrider Northern Beaches, were recognised for their extraordinary work reducing plastic pollution from one end of the peninsula to the other.

"Congratulations to Jude and Rowan who do an outstanding job engaging and educating the public across the Northern Beaches to help keep our beautiful beaches clean. 

"Council received a record 36 nominations across four categories this year, reflecting an increased focus on the environment and an urgency to ensure we protect our area's unique, natural assets.

"We are proud to support and promote the work of these dedicated individuals and the organisations they represent." Mayor Regan said.

A full list of nominees follows with winners and highly commended highlighted.

Categories included: Bushland, Biodiversity, Oceans and Waterways.

Alicia Lloyd
Ann-Charlott Paduch
Carrole & Warren Bennetts
Daniella Dare
Farley MacDonald
Harriet Spark - Highly Commended (Oceans)
Ian Evans
Ian Jones
Janet Kershaw - Highly Commended (Bushland)
Janine Allman
Jayden Walsh
Jenny Wilson
JJ Farmer
Joan Reid - Winner (Biodiversity)
Jude Furniss & Rowan Hanley Joint Overall Winners

Julie Bennett
Louise Williams
Lynette Jones
Mal Fisher - Highly Commended (Bushland)
Marita Macrae - Highly Commended (Bushland)
Malin Frick - Winner (Waterways)

Michelle Blewitt
Pat Duggan
Paul Sharp
Portia Hackett
Richard Fabricius
Rowan Hanly - Winner (Oceans)
Sally Garman & Tony Garman - Winner (Biodiversity)

Sharnie Connell
Sharon Kinnison - Winner (Bushland)
Susan Alexander - Highly Commended (Waterways)

Wendy Ashmore


Metro Mirage Hotel Newport Metro Mirage Hotel Newport Metro Mirage Hotel Newport On the tranquil shores of Pittwater

Recent News

Watch Paint Dry…Literally!
Watch Paint Dry…Literally!
Manly Corso will be transformed into a live art class over the next month...
Spiegelesque Extended Encore Season
Spiegelesque Extended Encore Season
Due to popular demand Glen Street Theatre’s Pop Up Cabaret Season of Spiegelesque...
Manly Boys High School Reunion Years 1954-1958
Manly Boys High School Reunion Years 1954-1958
All who were students at MBHS during those years are welcome.
Harbour View Children's Centre Re-Opening
Harbour View Children's Centre Re-Opening
Northern Beaches Council is delighted to announce the Harbour View Children’s...
Help Shape the Future Design of Manly Life Saving Club
Help Shape the Future Design of Manly Life Saving Club
One of Australia’s most iconic beaches is set to get a facelift with a...

What's New

Think Conveyancing
Think Conveyancing
Think Conveyancing Manly & Northern Beaches
 Waterfront Venue Hire!
Waterfront Venue Hire!
Manly Yacht Club

Have You Visited

Cycling: The Ideal Way to Explore Manly!With 20kms of bike paths & trails you can discover secluded coves, deserted beaches and breathtaking coastal views!View Manly Bike Tours »
+ Contact · Add Your Event · Add Media Release · Add Your Business · Privacy · Site Map · Website © 2001-2018 Stralia Web